5 Things I have Noticed about Myself while working in the Hospitality Industry.

So. I’m coming to the end of a 2-ish month stint of co-hosting a dear friend’s Airbnb property while she is off on her world travels, and it’s been quite a fun learning curve, all in all. Especially after this weekend, which over here in the States was a big holiday. I had three sets of guests in as many days, so basically I’ve been speed-cleaning since Saturday. That means several things: One, I haven’t been thinking much about anything EXCEPT cleaning, and, Two, Oh gosh, how can it possibly be time to blog about writing already?

And then I reminded myself that life can’t be all about writing all the time. So today I’m going to tell you a few things I’ve noticed about myself over the course of this adventure:

  1. I am a people-watcher (confirmed). Okay, so I already knew this. But one of my favorite things about this whole process has been seeing all the different types of people that come through, and subsequently wondering things about them.
  2. I LOVE avoiding actual contact with actual people. Again, not really a surprise, and not as contradictory to the first point as you might think. The nice thing about online platforms is that you can interact with all sorts of people without having to go through the agony of meeting face-to-face. And yes, I realize some of you thrive on personal contact, but I am a shy, derpy introvert who forgets how to speak English when forced to make eye contact with humans. Yes, I am one of those people who will smile and say hello to your dog while ignoring you.
  3. I really like putting on duvet covers. I know. Most of you are probably shocked, and wondering just what alien planet I landed from. But maybe that’s because you’ve never learned how to put on a duvet cover like a boss. You’re welcome.
  4. I am the last person you want to fold your fitted sheet. Even after watching multiple videos, including this one. This method might be dummy-proof, but apparently I’m not.
  5. I have a sassy side that desperately wants to flaunt itself. Whenever people ask me “how far are you from such-and-such an address?” I always want to say, “How far are you from Google?” So far I have managed not to, but it takes much mental/spiritual exertion and sitting on my shoulder-devil’s head.

Okay, there you go. I have no idea why I’m blogging about this, but like I said… I can’t really think beyond double-checking the supply of toilet paper and watching fitted sheet tutorials right now.

I don’t know… You can always use this as a bit of characterization, if you like. I’d be proud to make it into your sassy-b&b-host-who-also-happens-to-solve-murder-mysteries paperback series.

tumblr_lqtjeaQEZU1qcddlw.gif

Leave a Reply

