Nerding about Stuff I don’t Understand.

Occasionally, I like keeping myself inspired by blowing my own mind. One of the ways I like to do this is by doing some science research. I don’t have a math/science brain, so I never have any idea what I’m studying, but it’s sure fun.

Now, this all started with a friend of mine. Unlike me, she has an extremely math/science brain, and one day several years ago, I noticed that her “light summer reading” happened to be a book on string theory. It sounded interesting, so I asked her to explain it. Which she did. I didn’t understand a word of it. Nevertheless, it still sounds interesting, so I decided to dip into it a bit today. I started off with a bunch of super-nerd websites that may or may not have been written in English; I really couldn’t say. But eventually I discovered (with relief) a TED talk. TED talks are always life-savers.

After that, I found an article which tells me that, basically, we still have no idea what’s going on, and string theory probably isn’t the “theory of everything” people were hoping for. Everything we thought we had a handle on turns out to be just the tip of the iceberg. Unsurprising, really.

Okay, now that my mind is well and truly boggled, I’ll just toss in a gloriously hyperlinked Wikipedia article on that Large Hadron Collider (yes, that is its official, highly scientific name) the TED guy mentioned.

I’ll just finish off by saying that the thing about all this that I find the easiest to wrap my head around is the idea of multiple dimensions that we can’t see. My initial reaction was, “Well, of course. Every three-year-old church kid knows that.” Nothing new here, moving on. Anyways, that just struck me as kind of funny.

And again, I really don’t have any idea what all this actually means, or even if it’s still something that scientists take seriously. It’s just an idea that I like. I’m just a writer, okay?

 

 

Leave a Reply

