Multipotentialites Are a Thing Now.

Here’s an excerpt from a book that I MUST track down. Immediately, if not sooner. It’s called How to Be Everything: A Guide for Those Who (Still) Don’t Know What They Want to Be When They Grow Up, by Emilie Wapnick, and it’s for people like me, who have never found that “one true passion” and are feeling kinda desperate.

Not all of us are born with one main interest — and we should see that as our biggest strength, not our weakness, says Emilie Wapnick, a writer, coach, artist (and then some). Do you remember being asked, as a little kid, what you wanted to be when you grew up? When I think back,…

via What it means when you can’t answer the question, What do you want to be when you grow up? — ideas.ted.com

 

Turns out, not having “one true passion” isn’t the fatal flaw that I’ve always thought. It just means that I’m what she’s calling a multipotentialite, which is a doozy of a title, and one which I will happily adopt (as long as I agree with what the book has to say).

Anyhow, even if I end up being underwhelmed by the book itself, this is a good little article. It includes tips for handling a few of the biggest problems multipotentialites face, every single one of which I can heartily identify with.

The reason I’m sharing it with all of you, is that I’m willing to bet a lot of writers are actually multipotentialites, who turn to writing as a way of exploring the entire world. If you’re one of those, you can probably relate to my feelings of insecurity over the fact that I don’t in fact want to be writing EVERY SINGLE MOMENT OF THE DAY. I thought that made me wimpy or insincere… “dilettante-ish,” as I commonly accuse myself. But maybe I’m not.

So yeah, just wanted to put that out there. Once I get the book, I might do a “Toolkit” post to tell you more.

Leave a Reply

