Rambling about a Dead Language.

I’m really into listening to Old English at the moment. Maybe it’s due to the fact that I’m reading The Hobbit for the first time (Nope, I never read it as a kid. I know, horrible, right?), or maybe it’s just because I’m a nerd. At some point I’d like to give the language a study, but right now I can barely squeeze in time for the modern languages I’m trying to master, let alone ancient ones, so I just listen.

Exciting and soothing at the same time, somehow, isn’t it?

Here’s a bit of Beowulf, if you want some dramatic singing.

So yeah. By the way, has anybody out there read Beowulf? I read Seamus Heaney’s translation last year, and I actually loved it. It was so cheerfully and unabashedly testosterone-fueled. It reminded me of watching Marvel’s Thor movies. It was like, “Yeah, he’s spent a few days underwater doing battle with monsters. Without scuba equipment. Wanna make something out of it?” Joyous.

 

Leave a Reply

