Quintessence Pure.

It’s World Poetry Day, you guys. This is a fantastic piece of serendipity, because I have some poetry to share with you guys. Not my own poetry. I won’t disrespect the day like that. Milton’s poetry.

I’ve been slowly working my way through Paradise Lost, which is absolutely amazing, and at its best when read aloud. This morning I began Book VII, which is a picture of how the universe was created, and got so enthralled that I brought it along with me and read it out to the weird little creature I get to hang out with twice a week while his family is away.

IMG_20170216_105216.jpg

I don’t think he has much appreciation for poetry, to be quite honest. So I’m going to try a bit of it on you and see what happens. This bit happens to be when God separates light from darkness.

Let there be light; said God, and forthwith light
Ethereal, first of things, quintessence pure,
Sprung from the deep, and from her native east
To journey through the airy gloom began,
Spher’d in a radiant cloud, for yet the sun
Was not; she in a cloudy tabernacle
Sojourn’d the while. God saw the light was good;
And light from darkness by the hemisphere
Divided: light the day, and darkness night
He nam’d. Thus was the first day even and morn.
Nor pass’d uncelebrated, nor unsung
By the celestial choirs, when orient light
Exhaling first from darkness they beheld;
Birth-day of heaven and earth, with joy and shout
The hollow universal orb they fill’d,
And touch’d their golden harps, and hymning prais’d
God and his works, Creator him they sung,
Both when first evening was, and when first morn.

There. Isn’t that gorgeous? There’s plenty more where that came from, too, but I’ll spare you such a lengthy post as this could easily become.

Good gosh, that was some funky syntax. I’m going to leave it though.

Leave a Reply

