Don’t Ignore Your Facets.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m deep in a writing project, I can tend to forget about everything else. And not only when I’m actually doing the work of writing, but all the time. There are times when this should probably be a problem, like when I forget to keep up with basic laundry and bathroom cleaning and such, but I forget to even consider it a problem. And then there are other times when it’s really a problem, and I can feel little bits of myself shriveling up and falling off.

And that’s not good.

Most recently, the shriveling-bit has been my visual artist self. I’ve been ignoring my need to create beautiful things for quite a while, and it wasn’t until last week that I began to notice that my soul was whimpering. In fact, when I went to fix the problem, I discovered that by all rights it should have been shrieking, because I was so enmeshed in the writing side of me that I. Couldn’t. Remember. How. To. Draw.

I’m not even joking. I just sat staring at my pencil like…

tumblr_olramymPOc1rilquco1_500.gif

Fortunately, by that time I had awakened to the magnitude of the problem, so I persevered. If drawing wasn’t going to happen, maybe cutting up bits of paper and gluing them down would.

collage 001.jpg

I think it turned out okay, don’t you?

Since then, I’ve decided to embark on a series of collages, in order to give myself a solid goal that I can’t ignore. Now all I have to do is make sure the visual artist side doesn’t squeeze out the writer side. But this blog and my writer’s group should take care of that.

Basically what I’m trying to say is that it’s important to stay balanced. Even if you’re in the middle of something major, don’t let yourself become so obsessive that you neglect other parts of yourself.

Because we’re all magnificently multi-faceted beings that should be allowed to flourish. No shriveling.

Leave a Reply

