Back to the Basics.

Well, I’ve finished my writing class, and I’m feeling both accomplished and bereft. I learned way (way way) more than I anticipated, which should just teach me not to underestimate the importance of beginner-level classes.

Hey. That just gave me the theme I needed for today’s post. I kid you not, I was just rambling and hoping an idea would come to me, because I didn’t have a plan in place.

tumblr_nmhhcuHEBu1upgn51o3_500.gif

But now I have one: Don’t be afraid to go back to the basics. Mikhail Baryshnikov, one of the greatest dancers in history, never stopped taking beginner classes, because he knew that there was always something to be learned from them.

I think we often get carried away by progress, ever reaching for new heights. There is nothing wrong with that. We should always be striving to grow in any field of endeavor. However, in that quest, we often leave the basics behind.

Bad idea.

There is a reason we always start a new study with the basics, and it isn’t because they are easy. It’s because they are the foundation, the cornerstone on which everything else is built. And it doesn’t do to neglect the foundation, does it? Dizzying heights aren’t so much fun if the cornerstone is crumbly.

Do you get my drift? Good. Don’t forget to keep your basics game strong. No matter what you are practicing.

2 thoughts on “Back to the Basics.

  1. Not a bad idea. I checked and I can still get into that course since I completed it. I can always go through it again. I’d be interested to read your story you did for your final project.

    Like

Leave a Reply

