Spaghetti Bolognese and Other Things which Require Stewing.

So if you’ve taken a gander at my Twitter feed recently, you will have noticed that I’m a klutz. I grabbed the handle of a pan that had just been taken out of a 350 degree oven. Hey, that pan usually just sits on top of the stove, okay? The handle isn’t usually hot.

Besides, I was writing. Maybe that should be the theme of today’s post… never try to write while simultaneously making dinner.

But I digress…

Anyways, what I set out to write about was how weirdly parallel cooking fancy noodles and writing stories can be. So here goes.

I don’t know if anybody else out there has noticed, but a certain slice of the internet has been losing its composure over Spaghetti Bolognese… Whether or not celery should be added, how much butter equals a “generous knob,” and WHY ON EARTH WOULD IT EVER BE EATEN WITHOUT SPAGHETTI???

At any rate, I had gotten a package of ground beef out of the freezer early in the day, with absolutely no plans, because that chef thing is not my thing. Usually I’m the brown-the-beef-and-dump-some-tomato-sauce-over-it-and-call-it-good type. But gosh, that just sounded so boring. And here was the internet being all hilarious and everything, so I figured, meh, why not throw my hat into the ring?

I interpreted the recipe as best I could, and let me tell you… Best Bolognese Ever. Possibly I’m biased, because it’s the only proper Bolognese I’ve ever tried. That’s beside the point, however. The thing that really made the difference was shoving it into the oven and letting it sit for a while. If any of you cook, you’ll know what a difference that makes, but it was kind of revelatory for me. Basically, everything mixes together and comes out tasting marvelous.

Okay, this isn’t actually turning into a food blog, I promise. I’m getting to the point now, which is that writing can be the same way. We’d all like to be those people who can sit down at a desk (or curl up in a cozy chair, or get in bed, or stretch out on the floor…) and pluck stories out of thin air. Maybe some of us are like that. Lucky dogs. I’m sure not. Yesterday, I was supposed to plan out the first draft of a short story for my writing class. I sat down at the computer like a good little writer, and… absolutely nothing. Zilch. Nada.

Typical.

So I spent some time on social media, because any writer will tell you that’s what most of their time is spent doing, and therefore it must be a good inspiration boost, right? Absolutely nothing. Zilch. Nada.

Finally, I went to YouTube and watched makeup tutorials, because at this point why the heck shouldn’t I? It’s not like I was getting anything done. Yes, I was having an attitude. Yes, watching makeup tutorials is what I do when I’m having an attitude.

So, long story short, at about 12:30 AM, when, okay, I should not have still been awake, my brain came knocking on my forehead like, “Hey, here’s a couple of ideas! Would not a pair of these have bred? Yes, being kept together and put to use.”*

About an hour later, I had my storyline. Along with a random snip of conversation for some other day, and several ideas for blog posts. Including this dandy of a thought:

Writing is like Bolognese: sometimes it just needs to stew for a bit.

 


*Geez Louise, I thought I was going to make it through a whole blog post without any Shakespeare references. I’m incorrigible. It’s from Twelfth Night, in case you were wondering. And they’re talking about coins.

Leave a Reply

