Two Truths and a Lie.

So, I’ve started another Future Learn course. This one is called “Start Writing Fiction,” and even though technically I started writing fiction a long time ago, I’m super excited to see where it takes me.

The first exercise we did was to write a short paragraph containing two elements of fact, and one of fiction, on any subject. Then, we were asked to flip it around and write a paragraph with two elements of fiction and only one fact.

Harder than it sounds, actually. Somehow having to combine fiction and non-fiction really got my head screwed up. Maybe you Historical Fiction writers out there are sniggering behind your fingers at me right now, since this is kinda what you DO, but we all have to begin somewhere.

Anywhoo, just a fun little exercise, in case you want to try it.

And here were my paragraphs, in case you’d like to have a stab at guessing where the lies are:

1 Fact, 3 Fiction: 
I woke up to the sound of sirens this morning and groaned, unable to muster any concern about the reason. It’s hard to take an interest in anything on three hours of sleep. Those thoughtless neighbors of mine had another of their wild parties last night. Or morning, depending on how you look at it. There had been a lot of screaming, I remembered vaguely as the sirens turned onto my street.

3 Fact, 1 Fiction: 
My partner gave my hip a gentle shove, spinning me out under the arc of his raised arm. It was our third dance together, spread out over a dizzying night of Big Band Jazz, swirling skirts, and blurred smiles. “Come here often?” he asked as he pulled me back in. 
“Not as often as I’d like.” 
“Well then, we’d better make it last. What do you think about getting some food when this is over?” 
I smiled up at him. “I think that’s a brilliant plan.”

And feel free to post your paragraphs in the comments, if you’d like! I love this game.

One thought on “Two Truths and a Lie.

  1. Pingback: Rewriting the Heck out of Stuff. | elisabeth anne writes things

Leave a Reply

