Nothing is “Not Worth It.”

Well, as mentioned last week, I finished NaNoWriMo early. For two days I didn’t even want to think about computers, or pens, or paper. But then on the third morning, I woke up just feeling excited to write. Partly, it was the influence of my new fountain pen. Partly, it was the idea that I had a fresh new notebook to use. I grabbed my lovely new tools and snuggled down to write in my bed. (Yes, I write in bed in the mornings. It makes writing much more likely to happen if I know I can be comfy for a while longer.)

And then I froze up. Want to know why? Because I felt like I had to have something worth saying. Like I couldn’t use a pretty pen on the first page of a notebook without a profound statement to justify the waste of paper. It got so bad that I almost gave up and got breakfast.

Luckily, I was more motivated when it occurred to me that I didn’t want to let the habit of daily writing get away from me. I wasn’t ready to start revising the NaNovel yet, but I knew I had to write something, so finally I said, rather elegantly, “screw profundity, I’m gonna write about… well, not having anything worth saying.”

It turned out rather profound, if I do say so myself. I’ll spare you all my rambling, but basically what I brought it down to, in the end, was this:

The greatest literature in the world started out as an idle thought in someone’s mind. If the writers had stopped to consider whether it was “worth writing down,” how much of what we now consider to be great wisdom might have been lost?

The truth is, anything we think may have important seeds buried within it. Any thought that we can share with others; that might contain something universal… is worth writing down. We never know the possibilities of a thing until we get it out of our heads and into the world.

Does that make any sense at all? Hope so, because it’s really all I’ve got for you today. One of the best things that NaNo does is teach us how to put our Inner Editor in their place, and I don’t intend to allow that lesson to go unheeded in the upcoming year. I’m going to be operating on the idea that nothing I have to say is worthless, even if it is silly. I won’t allow myself to be taken over by self-doubt this time.

 

Leave a Reply

