This is Where I Panic.

tumblr_myuflf1kqm1r0o7l2o1_400

Week two is the week for telling myself I can’t possibly be on track to get 50,000 words written. Even though the word count tracker is telling me I’m slightly ahead of schedule, I don’t believe it. Gahhhh.

Deep breaths are necessary.

I’ve noticed something else about myself during NaNo. I have a serious attitude problem when I’m deep in a writing project. I’ve been getting huffy with anybody who has the audacity to take up space in my brain. Which is really unfair, obviously.

A key thing for me to work on through the rest of this month will be in not losing my perspective on the fact that other people have a right to some of my time, and they also have a right to expect basic politeness.

And this doesn’t only apply to my external behavior. I think, barring a few lapses, I’ve been doing okay with that. It’s mostly an internal thought issue. While this may not seem like a major problem, it really is. Whether or not our thoughts are apparent to others, they are affecting us. Who wants to go around having grumpy thoughts about other people all the time? Probably nobody; yet a lot of us do it all the time.

I can’t imagine this has a marvelous effect on our writing.

So that’s my goal for the rest of this week, and the rest of the month, and hopefully forever: Be nice to people, and don’t panic.

Leave a Reply

