Find a Cat.

I am currently house/pet-sitting for some friends, who just happen to own a lovely little black cat. (In fact, you can see him over in my Instagram feed, if you’re interested. I highly recommend him.) It is putting me in mind of an essay by Aldous Huxley I read recently, called “Sermons in Cats.” In it, he says that  every aspiring writer should have a cat.

download

Huxley suggests a Siamese cat, but probably any brand will do.

I have to say, I agree with him. You can learn loads about human nature.

And there’s no reason to limit it to only cats. Birdwatching can teach you plenty as well, or any sort of animal-watching, for that matter.

Well, folks, that’s all I have time for this morning. I have to go get a tooth pulled out.

Yay.

 

 

Leave a Reply

