Before I’m 30.

So I’m turning twenty-five tomorrow.

Cue the songs of stirring, heartbreaking nostalgia.

No, but seriously, people, I feel like I’m approaching my sixtieth birthday instead of what should be the prime of my life. Quarter-life crisis, I suppose.

What does one do to seek inspiration when one wakes up disgruntled because every morning is ONE. DAY. CLOSER?

One hits up good old lifehack.org. And one finds a list of 20 books to read before age 30.

  1. Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job & Your Dream Job – Jon Acuff
  2. The Power of Habit – Charles Duhigg
  3. Total Money Makeover – Dave Ramsey
  4. Boundaries: When to Say Yes, How to Say No to Take Control of Your Life –Henry Cloud and John Townsend
  5. The $100 Startup – Chris Guillebeau
  6. Do The Work – Steven Pressfield
  7. The Traveler’s Gift: Seven Decisions That Determine Personal Success –Andy Andrews
  8. Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us – Daniel Pink
  9. Essentialism – Greg McKeown
  10. 48 Days to the Work You Love – Dan Miller
  11. The 4 Hour Workweek – Tim Ferriss
  12. Blue Like Jazz – Donald Miller
  13. How to Win Friends and Influence People –  Dale Carnegie
  14. The Energy Bus – Jon Gordon
  15. Man’s Search for Meaning – Victor Frankl
  16. The Greatest Salesman in the World –Og Mandino
  17. Confessions of a Terrible Husband: Lessons Learned From a Lumpy Couch – Nick Pavlidis
  18. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking – Susan Cain
  19. The Bible
  20. The Obstacle is the Way – Ryan Holiday

The titles in blue are the ones I’ve read. Which means at this point that I have a pretty extensive program ahead.

I feel better.

I don’t know anything about most of these titles… have you read any of these? What did you think? Let me know.

6 thoughts on “Before I’m 30.

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    I’ve read #2,4,10,15,19, & 20
    Of the ones you haven’t read, I highly recommend #15,2,4, & 20 in that order. #10 is for someone very driven and organized (not me).

    Like

  2. Hi Elisabeth,
    Belated Happy Birthday! The only book that I’ve read in the list is “The Power of Habit”. What can I say? I prefer fantasy to reality 😀 But you’ve an interesting list… The other book that I found really useful and motivating is “Seven Habits of Highly Effective People” by Steven Covey,

    Like

Leave a Reply

