Definitely Burbling.

I’m stepping out of the personality profile routine for an indefinite period… possibly I will start up again next week, or possibly I won’t. The thing is, today when I sat down to blog, I ended up staring at the screen for a good five minutes, wondering what to do. Then I checked Twitter. Then I followed some links. Then I started to mentally beat myself up for not writing my blog post. Then I followed more links. Two hours have passed. I finally figured out that I don’t really want to write about personality quizzes today.

And here’s the thing: There’s nothing to be ashamed of in stepping out of the routine once in a while, yet I can’t be the only person out there who allows “shoulds” and “have tos” send me into a downward spiral of guilt and procrastination and more guilt about procrastinating, and…

It’s so silly, really. We’re creative people, right? Sometimes our creative brains want to go looping off in different directions, or maybe they just need a rest. If decide I want to draw a flower instead of revising the current WIP, then what is going to be more productive in the end? Grinding out a chapter of revision that is dull and sulky because my heart wasn’t in it, or drawing a flower?

Exactly. And then, once the flower is down on paper in ink or graphite (or whatever), I can head back to the writing with a refreshed outlook and enthusiasm.

I somehow developed a mentality that it is always better to do the things you don’t want to do before you are allowed to have fun.

What utter bilge.

Usually this tactic leads to nothing. No productivity (oh, stuff may get done… but will the end product be any good?) and certainly no fun or fulfillment.

So yes, I’m writing this rambling post instead of a nicely organized guide to developing fictional characters.

And once it is posted, I am going to draw a flower. Then I will work on my revision.

Leave a Reply

