What You Thought You Came For.

Last night I decided it was high time for me to read the Four Quartets, and I’m glad I did. They are, of course, massively quotable; but this is what really jumped out at me:

“…And what you thought you came for
Is only a shell, a husk of meaning
From which the purpose breaks only when it is fulfilled…”

-T.S. Eliot, Little Gidding” (Four Quartets)

Isn’t that nice? It’s so easy, when we’re caught up in the middle of life, to get discouraged when things don’t seem to be going the way we expect them to. In those times, it’s good to be reminded that honestly, our grand goals and visions are only the tiny little exoskeletons of the true purpose and expanse of our lives, and we won’t ever know the full extent of our impact until the end. And, of course, “In my end is my beginning.”

Reading things like this make me so thankful for my God, who holds the full expanse of my life in his hand and in his heart; who guides me when I can’t see the meaning; so that in my new beginning I will be able to look back at my end and rejoice in fulfilled purpose.

Leave a Reply

