Street Art.

Today we get some visuals to break up the monotony of all the wordiness. As you people might know if you’ve been following me for a while, I’m a visual artist as well as a writer, so today I thought it would be fun to talk about street art.

I love it.

Not only because it is fun, surprising, and often beautiful, but also because of all the stories that go along with it. Not only the story of how it came to be there, whether commissioned or furtively sprayed on in the middle of the night, but the story of the artist who put it there. Who are they? What inspired them to create this piece? Does it have a message, and if so, why was it important to the artist to share it?

And so on and so forth.

So that’s enough talking… Now I’ll share a few of my favorite pieces with you. I’ll give the artist attribution if I can.

First… Is it totally cliche of me to say that I adore Banksy? I mean, there’s a reason why everybody loves him, right? He’s good.

images (2)

This is quite possibly my favorite.

Banksy-Anarchist-and-Motherimages (1)

download

I mean, this one is a classic, but really. It’s so wonderful.

And then there are these ones by Victor Ash.

images

victor_ash_scharnweberstrasse_59_1

These lovely crowd scenes from Escif.

escif_jul10_1_u_10001

opct_0950284803c9ca8aefc5286b35748dbb215d6a80

And of course there’s Swoon, who works mainly in wheatpaste (basically wallpaper), so the art weathers and tears beautifully.

Swoon-Street-Artist-London-1-650x433

IMG_8438_PerfectlyClear_0001_1-1

…Now here’s a few miscellaneous pieces that I have discovered on my random forays into Internet Land. I have no idea who the artists are, I just know I like them.

468ba7eca2459a0549c5b764cef713fb

235ae49c0b43deab1ff21e7160f53d6a

46498f1ef3840e5366ed4c9a8789e753

Apparently, there is an entire novel written on the walls of this abandoned house.

cff9a5ce0c81598428f061fcf8e9b3f6

I mean, come on. It’s Le Petit Prince.

tumblr_o39tz0WcLa1r22n3zo1_500

I do. I like all you lovely people.

So yeah. These are a few of my favorites. I could go on, there are so many pieces that I love, but I’ll spare you.

But if by any stretch of the imagination, you like seeing stuff like this, I’d be more than happy to show you more of my favorite art! Just let me know.

2 thoughts on “Street Art.

  1. My husband likes street art. We live in Banksys home city. He went to see Banksys Dismaland exhibition last year. It’s kinda cool walking round here and seeing random Banksys on the wall… but it was more fun when he was locally famous rather than globally!

    Like

    • Wow, how fun! I read a book recently by a guy who “knew Banksy when…” and it made me feel a bit nostalgic for those days too, even though of course I wouldn’t have heard of him without the global fame!

      It’s kind of crazy when “hometown folks” get famous, isn’t it? Several people I’m connected with are heading that direction, at least in a small way, and while it can be fun sometimes to sort of casually toss their names around and watch eyes widen (heh), there is a definite sense of… I don’t know, is loss the word I’m looking for? Cheapness?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

