Let the Weirdness Out.

First off, my apologies for not posting on Tuesday. I’m housesitting for some point friends this week and it’s got me thrown off schedule.

Second, this will be a short post, since I’m typing on my ancient phone.

All I really want to say is this: Don’t be afraid to write stuff that sounds weird. Probably due to my change of scene and a lack of sleep induced by wifi, a home theater, and a cat who likes to socialize at two in the morning, I’ve been writing some pretty trippy stuff. For instance, day before yesterday I wrote a scene where some unidentified female discussed the point of suffering with an unidentified narrator. While swimming around in a pool. Fairly random and definitely unconnected to any project.

And that’s okay. I think it’s easy to get caught up on writing something “sensible” or “good quality,” and that can easily lead into fear and blocks.

So instead of succumbing to that notion, I have a separate notebook that I call “The Random Bubbling of my Mind.” There I can scribble down all those random bits that come to me, as bits do. In that notebook, I don’t have to worry about how much quality is in the subject matter. I can just get the words down.

If, like me, you have a tendency to self-censor your own subject matter, then I highly suggest keeping a special notebook for those really weird things that show up sometimes. Because nothing you write is worthless, and you never know what you might need someday.

Well, that’s really all I have to say. This was a lot of words to type on a tiny phone. I hope it all makes a bit of sense, because I’m literally falling asleep right now. If not, more apologies will be due.

Leave a Reply

