Buried with a Stake of Holly.

Friday is Christmas, in case you weren’t aware.

I tend to forget these things, honestly. I am shamefully grinchy when it comes to the holidays.

tumblr_m1avbyZhtz1qjncsyo2_500

My face when anybody says “Merry Christmas.”

However! There are a few things which never fail to get me into the spirit of the season. I will now share them with you.

The opening lines of Charles Dickens’ Christmas Juggernaut:

Marley was dead: to begin with. There is no doubt whatever about that. The register of his burial was signed by the clergyman, the clerk, the undertaker, and the chief mourner. Scrooge signed it. And Scrooge’s name was good upon ‘Change, for anything he chose to put his hand to. Old Marley was as dead as a door-nail.

Mind! I don’t mean to say that I know, of my own knowledge, what there is particularly dead about a door-nail. I might have been inclined, myself, to regard a coffin-nail as the deadest piece of ironmongery in the trade. But the wisdom of our ancestors is in the simile; and my unhallowed hands shall not disturb it, or the Country’s done for. You will therefore permit me to repeat, emphatically, that Marley was as dead as a door-nail.

I mean, that is fantastic.

And speaking of “A Christmas Carol,” have you seen Jim Carrey’s version? It’s absolutely gorgeous.

Muppets notwithstanding, this is absolutely my favorite version. Besides being delightfully funny (I mean, duh, this is Jim Carrey we’re talking about), the animation is stunningly beautiful. It makes me tear up a little every time I see it.

Then of course there are Owl City’s Christmas songs:

 

And now… (drum roll please)…

THE BEST THING EVER TO HAPPEN TO THIS SEASON OF GOOD CHEER:

The best trilogy ever created.

You’re welcome.

Merry Christmas.

4 thoughts on “Buried with a Stake of Holly.

  1. Scrooge is my hero. BAH! HUMBUG! have become my catch phrases throughout the holiday season.
    I get a laugh, and at the very least, a smile, every time i use it.
    And I agree with L. C. A coffin nail would be the more proper term to use. 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Second Annual Christmas Post. | elisabeth anne writes things

Leave a Reply

