Once We Are Real.

“…once you are real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

-Margery Williams, The Velveteen Rabbit

I remember reading The Velveteen Rabbit when I was little, but I don’t remember much of the actual story. I just remember putting it down after I was finished and thinking, “Well, that sucked.”

Needless to say, I was too young at that point to appreciate the beauty of this quote.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about authenticity, and the nature of “coolness.” It seems to be more and more common for people to hide their true natures in an attempt to seem “cool” at all times. There is a generalized fear of showing passion and enthusiasm, and any statement we make has to be cloaked in qualifiers.

But what’s so cool about that?

The coolest people I know, the most genuinely interesting and inspiring people to spend time with, are the people who aren’t afraid of showing their “realness,” with all their lovely incompleteness and dorky tendencies.

The only people I know who laugh at enthusiasm, or put people down for their passion, are the people who have become so good at sublimating their own enthusiasm and passion that they no longer know who they are.

So don’t be afraid to let your enthusiasm hang out. To be real about your passion is to be beautiful.

Leave a Reply

