Shut Your Mouth.

“Shut your mouth; open your eyes and ears. Take in what is there and give no thought to what might have been or what is somewhere else.”

— C.S. Lewis

Thank you, Clive Staples. I don’t remember this often enough. I spend so much of my life thinking about how things might have turned out differently had I been a different sort of person, or wishing myself in some other place.

And you know what? This clutter in my brain makes me miss stuff. So much stuff. Sometimes you just have to quit all your chatter, vocal or otherwise, and look at everything around you. Accept it for what it is. There is beauty in it all if you just stop to look for it.

3 thoughts on “Shut Your Mouth.

  1. Great quote. I have a habit of live for what’s around the corner next, instead of being in the moment.

    One of my fav childhood authors too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

