The Right Thing.

“Anything that gets words on the page is the Right Thing to Do.”

Diana Gabaldon, on learning how to write.

Well, here we are, three days into National Novel Writing Month. (I don’t know about you, but I don’t even think of this month as November any more… It’s just NaNo. Anyone else? No? Okay well maybe that’s just me then…)

This quote is majorly reassuring right now, as I am basically “pantsing” it this year. I’ve always felt uncomfortable working this way, since it’s not what I was taught. But when you’ve got a crazy amount of words to get down, and an absolutely ridiculous deadline to get it done in, careful mapping of every detail just isn’t an option.

Oh, and one last thing. Diana Gabaldon is the author of the Outlander series. Even a classics-obsessed nerd like me has heard of those. So if she says this is true, it’s true.

Leave a Reply

