November Change-Up.

Hey everybody!

So, to get the first bit of business out of the way, as well as to explain the title, I’m going to let you know that for the month of November, I’m going to suspend the usual schedule of “Learning From” posts. But don’t worry, I’ll be picking it back up, and we’ll get to learn from the last six authors in the series during the months of December and January. So why am I putting them on hold?

Well. I can answer that in four syllables of gobbledygook: NaNoWriMo.

Okay, so to many writers, that probably makes perfect sense, but if you’ve never heard of  it, NaNo is short for National Novel Writing Month… In other words, a celebration of insanity. Basically, a bunch of crazy people decided they could write a 50,000 word first draft of a novel in thirty days, and settled on the month of November to do it in. Last year, I became one of those crazy people.

Here’s how it happened: I bought NaNo’s handbook No Plot? No Problem! A long, long time ago, and forgot about it. About this time last year I was cleaning out my bookshelf and re-discovered it. Without giving myself time to think, I decided “What the heck, why not?” And signed on for the ride. I figured I might make it a week. But guess what? I made it all the way across the finish line, ending up with a 50,167 word first draft of a terrible novel, which is slowly becoming slightly less terrible. By mid-December, I already couldn’t wait for November to come again.

Now, of course, November is almost upon us, and I’m freaking out. I mean, who told me I could write a decent story anyway? What am I trying to accomplish here? I’ll never be Jane Austen anyway, so I should probably just go work at McDonald’s.

The lovely thing about NaNo is that you don’t get enough time to entertain those thoughts. You have to write a couple thousand words per day, and baby, there’s no room for negativity in that pressurized canister.

So that’s where I’ll be in November. I will be tweeting about my process daily, and I promise I won’t neglect the blog entirely. I may even still post twice weekly, who knows? But I’m guessing most of it will be NaNo themed. Maybe I’ll share some of the more hilariously heinous bits of writing that come out, or maybe I’ll share words of encouragement to others who are attempting the impossible. I’m not sure how it will look quite yet.

If you want to learn more about NaNoWriMo, here is a link to their website.

If you’re doing NaNo this year, give yourself a shout-out down in the comments! And add me as a writing buddy here. I’d love to connect with you.

Leave a Reply

