Learning From Jodi Picoult.

jodiP

“I don’t believe in writer’s block. Think about it — when you were blocked in college and had to write a paper, didn’t it always manage to fix itself the night before the paper was due? Writer’s block is having too much time on your hands. If you have a limited amount of time to write, you just sit down and do it. You might not write well every day, but you can always edit a bad page. You can’t edit a blank page.”

I have a kind of love-hate relationship with this blog series I’ve started… On the one hand, it’s nice to know exactly what I will be writing about next, and on the other hand, some of these writers are so good at their jobs that I really don’t have anything to add. This quote is one of those.

“Writer’s block is having too much time on your hands.” Boom. This is so exactly true. It’s particularly resonant at this time, because guess what? NaNoWriMo is almost upon us! I’ve been looking forward to this season since… well, since last November. Ah, that heady month, full of sleepless nights and too much tea, as we race  to fit a ridiculously large number of words into a ridiculously small number of days. I love it.

If you take a look at my Instagram feed over there on the right, you’ll notice that I’m participating in Inktober, another month-long challenge requiring me to complete an ink drawing every day for the month of October. You might be able to infer from this that I love monthly challenges.

Now, to transport the urgency of an imposed deadline into the rest of the year.

P.S.: I’m actually writing this on Wednesday afternoon, as by the time this post is published, I’ll be on my way up to Seattle for an Owl City concert!

ASLDJFKEJWOFEIJFOLWSIJEDFWOAUJF I’M SO EXCITED, PEOPLE!


This post is the sixth in a series based on this article by James Clear, featuring quotes and reflections on the routines of twelve famous authors.

Leave a Reply

