A Plan.

Buckle up, I’m about to share a random anecdote about my personal life:

So in about a month and a half, I will be doing this…

Oh, yes. Plus, I have a VIP Pass, which means, among other things, that I will be meeting Adam Young. Mmhmm. Yes I will. And therefore, I’m highly motivated to get in shape, because who doesn’t want to look good when they meet a celeb? Besides, I want the photo to be Facebook-ready so I can brag unapologetically and obnoxiously. So I’ve been walking for about 20 minutes every day, as well as doing 45-60 minutes of Pilates. After that, I always fall asleep. Unintentionally and spontaneously. It’s like workout narcolepsy.

Today after I woke up (with an imprint of my macrame bracelet in my cheek and hands that felt like marshmallows from having my head resting on them for so long), I shut my eyes and groaned, because I suddenly remembered that it is Wednesday, and I had no idea what to blog about. So I did what I always do when I’m desperate.

I whined to my brother.

He suggested that I research the writing process of a writer that I admire, and blog about my findings. Well, that sounded like a plan, so I decided to run with it. I Googled the incredibly intelligent-sounding and coherent phrase, “famous authors writing process” and lo and behold, the first link I clicked on led me to a fantastic article by James Clear, a person I need to research because honestly I have no idea who he is. The article is called “The Daily Routines of 12 Famous Writers (And How They Can Help You Succeed).” Yep, that’s a link to the article. You should totally click on it.

I think in the upcoming weeks, I’m going to study the authors he includes, and my Wednesday posts will be based on the quotes he includes, as well as anything else I think is worth sharing. For today, I’ll just take his list of suggestions for applying the themes to your life, and see how I measure up:

1. Pushing yourself physically prepares you to work hard mentally.

Well, true. This is a hard one for me, as I would much rather sit and use my brain all day. I just find physical exercise so boring, apart from Pilates and dancing, that it is the thing I most commonly let slide. I’m motivated externally now, however, and I’m learning to enjoy the benefits, if not the process. Now I just need to learn how to stay awake.

2. Do the most important thing first.

Ugh, prioritizing. Not one of my strong points, usually. I’m not a morning person naturally, so I prefer to ease into my days. Unfortunately, this makes it easy for other things (and people) to intrude, and often the truly important things get pushed aside. Not a great way to live. For me, writing will always have to come second to studying the Bible and spending time with Jesus (unless I wake up with a wildly good idea that I have to get down, in which case I’m sure He would understand, because He’s cool like that). But after that, I need to sit down and write. No Shakespeare until you’ve done your own work, girl. I don’t care how amazing Beatrice is.

3. Embrace the struggle and do hard work.

Madre de Dios. Oy, vey. Not “good” work. “Hard” work.

Okay.

Leave a Reply

