Carpe Annum.

On May 25th, I turned twenty-four years old.

I also got myself a motto for the year: Carpe Annum. If you have never watched Dead Poet’s Society, there is something wrong with you. Go watch it.

What? Did I just type that? I meant to type, If you have never watched Dead Poet’s Society, I’m riffing off the famous catchphrase, “Carpe Diem,” or “Seize the Day.” Only my version means “Seize the Year.”

So why did I choose this to be my motto for the year? Quite simply, I realized that next year I will hit the quarter-century mark, and I don’t want to be in the same place then as I am now. I want to be able to say that I’ve done something. I want to make this a year where I don’t let opportunities slip by.

I suppose it all started at the end of last October, when (late at night) I decided, “What the heck, I’m gonna do NaNoWriMo this year. Probably won’t make it past the first week, but I’m gonna give it a go.”

I won it. I figured out, by golly, I could be a writer.

Beginning early in January, I decided that I would  be a writer.

And at the beginning of May, I declared myself publicly to BE a writer.

Okay, I declared it to the lady who was cutting my hair. I’m sure she was just being polite, and thinking more about my strands than my words, and had no idea that my heart rate went through the roof and I got little tingles in my wrists as I said it. But it was a big deal to me.

And ever since then, I’ve felt God grinning, and saying “Go for it. I’ve got your back.”

He’s been telling me He thinks my motto is cool in so many different ways, from verses in my personal Bible study times, to people speaking to me (both friends and strangers), to the things I read, and the music I hear.

This bit of loveliness is one of the ways:

I love that.

The biggest way I’ve stepped out so far is to actually submit one of my short pieces of fiction to a new writer’s contest. I can’t wait to receive my very first rejection letter. Really, truly. Because the mark of a real writer is getting rejected, right? I mean, you can’t get rejected until you’ve put yourself out there, can you?

Of course, I wouldn’t be disappointed if I won, either.

What is one way that you’ve Seized the Year? I’d love to hear about it. Leave me a comment, or post in your own blog and tag me somehow. 

Leave a Reply

